In May 1952, five sponsoring families invited prospective members to a meeting at the Mary Elizabeth Tea Room on Engle Street in Englewood with a representative from the Union of American Hebrew Congregations (now the Union for Reform Judaism) to establish a Reform Jewish congregation. Their intent was to “form a congregation, modern in spirit, dedicated to a liberal interpretation of Judaism, and providing a program for effective Jewish living on the American scene.” The community expanded and became affiliated with the national reform movement on December 10, 1952.
At first, worship occurred in homes and later, in rented facilities, including the basement of the Presbyterian Church in Englewood. Subsequently, the Temple acquired land at our current location at the corner of Engle and Hudson Streets, and our synagogue was built in 1958.
The Temple Sinai Early Childhood Center was launched in 1977 and remains one of our most treasured gems. This nationally accredited preschool remains universally well-regarded, as does our outstanding religious school and B’nei Mitzvah program.
Temple Sinai is affiliated with the Union for Reform Judaism.