In May 1952, five sponsoring families invited prospective members to a meeting with a representative of the Union of American Hebrew Congregations (now the Union for Reform Judaism) to form a Reform Jewish congregation at the Mary Elizabeth Tea Room on Engle Street in Englewood. Their intent was to “form a congregation, modern in spirit, dedicated to a liberal interpretation of Judaism, and providing a program for effective Jewish living on the American scene.” The community expanded and became affiliated with the national reform movement on December 10, 1952. At first, worship occurred in homes and later in rented facilities including the basement of the Presbyterian Church in Englewood.
Subsequently the temple acquired land at its current location at the corner of Engle and Hudson Streets and our synagogue was built in 1958. Launched in 1977, the Temple Sinai Early Childhood Center remains one of the gems of Temple Sinai. This nationally accredited pre-school remains universally well-regarded as does our outstanding religious school and B’nei Mitzvah program. Temple Sinai is affiliated with the Union for Reform Judaism.
Temple Sinai of Bergen CountyOne Engle StreetTenafly, New Jersey 07670 Phone: (201) 568-3035Fax: (201) 568-6095